RSS

36. Books Bought & Read, July 2012…

28 Aug
36. Books Bought & Read, July 2012…

Books Bought, July 2012

A Short History Of Wine,Rod Phillips

Westminster,” Malcolm Day

Shakespeare’s London,” Malcolm Day

Priceless,” Robert.K.Wittman

The Wicked Wit Of Winston Churchill,” ed. Dominique Enwright 

Suddenly, A Knock At The Door,” Etgar Keret

Alice In Wonderland/Alice’s Adventures Through The Looking Glass,” Lewis Carroll

Tim The Tiny Horse At Large,” Harry Hill

Take The Cannoli,” Sarah Vowell

Horrible Histories: Terrible Tudors,” Terry Deary & Martin Brown

Horrible Histories: Gorgeous Georgians,” Terry Deary & Martin Brown

Horrible Histories: Measly Middle Ages,” Terry Deary & Martin Brown

Horrible Histories: Barmy British Empire,” Terry Deary & Martin Brown

Horrible Histories: Cut-Throat Celts,” Terry Deary & Martin Brown

Horrible Histories: Smashing Saxons,” fishTerry Deary & Martin Brown

If You Prefer a Milder Comedian, Please Ask For One,” Stewart Lee

Only Revolutions,” Mark.Z.Danielowski

Mr.Gum: 8 book box set,” Andy Stanton

There’s Probably No God: an atheist’s guide to christmas,” ed.Adriane Sherin

Breakfast At The Wolseley,” A.A.Gill

 

Books Read, July 2012

Grantland No.2,” ed. McSweeney’s

Taking Chances,” John Haigh

The Football Men,” Simon Kuper

What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank,” Nathan Englander

Boris’s London,” Boris Johnson

Westminster,” Malcolm Day

Shakespeare’s London,” Malcolm Day

A Short History of Wine,” Rod Phillips

Proust and the Squid,” Maryanne Wolf

Suddenly, A Knock At The Door,” Etgar Keret

Take The Cannoli,” Sarah Vowell

Tim The Tiny Horse At Large,” Harry Hill

If You Prefer a Milder Comedian, Please Ask For One,” Stewart Lee

The Wicked Wit Of Winston Churchill,” ed. Dominique Enwright 

Breakfast At The Wolseley,” A.A.Gill

Horrible Histories: Gorgeous Georgians,” Terry Deary & Martin Brown

Horrible Histories: Measly Middle Ages,” Terry Deary & Martin Brown

Horrible Histories: Barmy British Empire,” Terry Deary & Martin Brown

Jerusalem,” Guy Delisle

 

Twenty books bought, nineteen read: at this rate, I’ll never catch up on all of the books I have to read, but it’s even worse than it first appears: one of those listed is a box-set of my favourite ‘kids’ book series, Mr.Gum, consisting of eight books, meaning this was really a 27-book month. Although I’ve already read three of them, and the same goes for the Alice books, which I couldn’t resist as I found them in a gorgeous edition, (I think this is the third Alice I now own).

So, we’ll call it a score draw for the month.

The most interesting feature of this month’s reading was probably that I had managed to get so many reviews written for some of the books in this blog: the Keret, the Vowell and the Wolf on short stories, American essays and the science of reading were all featured in recent posts, and one quarter of the quartet of comedy books I blogged a while ago was a tome by Stewart Lee, who I finally got around to seeing live in London, and subsequently picked up a signed book I hadn’t read for my best friend, who is a big fan of his. Seemed rude not to read it first, just to make sure he would enjoy it…

I discovered another fount of kids’ history books which I picked up, although I think I know all I need to about London history for my tours now, so I only actually read two of them. I topped them up with Mayor of London Boris Johnson’s amusing book on some of the figures who have made the capital what it is, (a copy picked up in Hay which, being signed, was not allowed to leave the hallowed confines of My Bedroom).

I think I’ll save the quotes for the next blog: for now, just know that I struggled through the wine history for far longer than I like to be reading a book for, (especially a book as dry, ironically, as this one); flew through the Grantland and short stories of Englander and Keret; finished off a soon-to-be blogged trio of football books with the excellent ‘Football Men’; and regressed with two comic books, the one a surreal tale of a sugar-lump sized horse by English comedian Harry Hill, and the other a fascinating look at the complications behind life as an ex-pat in Jerusalem by the world-roving Quebecois graphic novelist Guy Delisle. In case you were looking for something good to read this week…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 28, 2012 in BOOKS

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “36. Books Bought & Read, July 2012…

Leave a Reply

 
