RSS

106. Books Bought & Read, February 2014…

03 Mar
106. Books Bought & Read, February 2014…

Books Bought, February 2014

Cadernos de Lanzarote: diario 1, (The Notebook, vol.1), José Saramago

Lisbonne,’ Fernando Pessoa

59 Seconds: think a little, change a lot,’ Richard Wiseman

Taschen Art Book: Diego Rivera

Taschen Art Book: Albrecht Dürer

Taschen Art Book: Fernando Botero

Poemas,’ Fernando Pessoa, ed.Eduardo Lourenço

A Jangada De Pedra,’ (The Stone Raft), José Saramago

Digitalizar5982

Secret Lisbon,’ Vitor Manuel Adrio

L’âme Secrète De Lisbonne,’ (The Secret Soul Of Lisbon), various

Poemas de Fernando Pessoa,’ Fernando Pessoa

Odes De Ricardo Reis,’ (Odes by Ricardo Reis), Fernando Pessoa

Poesias Inéditas, 1919-1930,’ (Unpublished Poems, 1919-1930), Fernando Pessoa

Cain,’ José Saramago

The Cave,’ José Saramago

The Year Of The Death Of Ricardo Reis,’ José Saramago

El Cuento De Lo Isla Desonocida,’ (The Tale Of The Unknown Island), José Saramago

Children Playing Before A Statue Of Hercules,’ ed. Dave Sedaris

Where The Wild Things Are,’ Maurice Sendiak

The Road Home,’ Mark Haddonsweet-tooth

Sweet Tooth,’ Ian McEwan

Angelmaker,’ Nick Harkaway

Eric,’ Terry Pratchett

Quarantine,’ Jim Crace

The Master Of Go,’ Yasunari Kawabata

Thinking: the new science of decision-making, problem-solving and prediction,’ ed. John Brockman

Scott Pilgrim: scott pilgrim’s precious little life, Vol.1,’ Bryan Lee O’Malley

.

Books Bought & Read, February 2014

O Pátio Maldito,’ (The Damned Yard), Ivo Andrić  

Lisbonne,’ Fernando Pessoa

Cadernos de Lanzarote, (The Notebook), José Saramago

Autos,’ (Acts), Gil Vicente

A Lenda De São Julião Hospitaleiro de Flaubert,’ (Illustrations for Flaubert’s ‘The Legend Of St.Julian The Hospitaller’), Amadeo de Souza-Cardoso

Cain,’ José Saramago

59 Seconds: think a little, change a lot,’ Richard Wiseman

Grantland: the complete collection so far...

Grantland: the complete collection so far…

The Believer, issue 103

Where The Wild Things Are,’ Maurice Sendiak

Eric,’ Terry Pratchett

Grantland, issue 8

The Master Of Go,’ Yasunari Kawabata

El Cuento De Lo Isla Desonocida,’ (The Tale Of The Unknown Island), José Saramago

Lord Malquist And Mr.Moon,’ Tom Stoppard

Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life, Vol.1,’ Bryan Lee O’Malley

No One Belongs Here More Than You,’ Miranda July

Quarantine,’ Jim Crace

Angelmaker,’ Nick Harkaway

.

I love round numbers, and I also love fractions: this month saw the latter, if not the former, when I managed to get through exactly 2/3 of the books I bought, (18 of 27), although the fact that I was one purchase away from exactly one-a-day in this foreshortened February left me, I’m sure you can understand, a tad frustrated..

I continued my love affair with the second-hand book shops and markets of Lisbon, picking up some of the fabulous Taschen art books, (which look great on the shelf above my bed as I continue kidding myself I will someday get around to reading them and learning more about art); am well on my way to owning something by each of Fernando Pessoa‘s heteronyms, (if that means nothing to you, check out my blog entry on my new favourite author from a few weeks ago); and almost at my goal of owning and reading everything ever written by José Saramago. There were a few wonderful surprises in there, too.

Mini José and Fernando

Mini José and Fernando

51JX8PJztQL

The last book I read this month for example, (whilst recuperating from a trip back home to the UK with a 48-Miranda July + Short Storieshour stopover in the Algarve region of southern Portugal, where I flew through three books in just over two days), was Nick Harkaway‘s wonderful adventure-thriller-crime-novel-cum-history-of-London ‘Angelmaker,‘ a book which  I will be reviewing for you in the coming weeks; and that had come immediately after one of the funniest collections I have read for a while, (possibly ever), ‘No One Belongs Here More Than You‘ by Miranda July, which I think also deserves its own entry, so look out for it.

The comparative splurge on books was facilitated by the return trip to the UK. Books in Portugal are unfeasibly expensive, partly due to a government law preventing shops from selling new books at discounted prices: that’s why, upon my arrival in England, there were two parcels of books awaiting me, now happily nestled on the shelf in my bedroom here in Lisbon. Sadly, work is getting busy, (that’s not really sad, I love my job!), and the weather is great at the moment, (again, not really very sad at all), so it may take a while to get through these.

I hope you’re all enjoying my Portuguese adventure anywhere near as much as I am!

 

 1266293 500_9789722109017_cadernos_lanzarote1 url-2 9782264022493FS ScottPilgrim url url-1 quarantine m8iLUONqPRmEE6UPqJ8ooww Fotos-de-Teatro-Gil-Vicente-Autos_432848355_1 cain j saramago THE-BELIEVER_N103 image m-8ArqQY4Fs608bMHAVUD7w 61XR766siWL._SL1196_ imagem162 61sgex75IOL 51JX8PJztQL

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2014 in BOOKS

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “106. Books Bought & Read, February 2014…

  1. nycavri

    March 3, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    The Summer Game – Roger Angell
    The Roman Hat Mystery – Ellery Queen
    The Brain of the Galaxy – Jack Vance
    Judgment Night – C. L. Moore

    It really is amazing how much more slowly I read non-fiction than fiction. Especially when the non-fic in question is a quaint and immersive series of articles on baseball in the 60s and early 70s. The Summer Game was the perfect way to ease myself into Spring Training, and it was fascinating to read about all the old, huge names in the context of their time, to see how much the game has (and more often really hasn’t) changed over the years. I look forward to reading Angell’s other books – covering the 70s then 80s – perhaps in the chill of November.

    Glad to finally read my first Queen mystery – his was a name I’ve always heard, but never explored. Solid plot and payoff, and an amusing dynamic between the inspector father and the eponymous writer son. There will be more Queen mysteries in my reading future.

    And then it was back to Sci-Fi. A nicely crafted and somewhat dizzying short story by Vance, and my next exploration into the “saved” classics of the Singularity and Co. line. Judgment Night is 65 years old, but somehow not especially old fashioned. It has aged more gracefully than the similarly premised The Sky Is Filled Of Ships (read last month) from 15 years later.

    If you like Sci-Fi, I can’t recommend the line (to date) enough.

    How did you like Master of Go? It’s been on my “to read” list forever . . .

     
    • doronklemer

      March 3, 2014 at 7:47 pm

      Hilarious!! I actually put The Master Of Go on your bookshelf at home as a surprise for next time you’re there, I KNEW you’d like it!! It was great, I’ve read a couple of books on great chess tournaments down the ages, and it had similarities, but it was just steeped in and infused with so much Japanese-ness, it made me homesick…

       

Leave a Reply

 
