RSS

120. Books Bought & Read, June 2014…

04 Aug
120. Books Bought & Read, June 2014…

Books Bought, June 2014.

n/a

 

Books Read, June 2014.

A Death In Brazil: a book of omissions,’ Peter Robb

Inverting The Pyramid: the history of football tactics,’ Jonathan Wilson

Futebol: the brazilian way of life,’ Alex Bellos

City Of God,’ Paolo Linu

‘Combat Camera: from auntie beeb to the afghan frontline,Christian Hill

 

It is now August, the World Cup has been over for weeks, and I am safely back in the UK after two glorious months in Brazil, preparing my next adventures, (Oxford, Southend-on-Sea, New York, Lisbon, the usual…and after this month, who knows?).

It is time to put away childish things, (football, collecting Panini stickers), and return to the more important things in life, (literature, collecting the last dozen Panini stickers I need to complete my collection).

Lio Messi finally visits Benfica and the Stadio da Luz...

Lio Messi finally visits Benfica and the Stadio da Luz…

 

So after weeks and months of neglect I am back book blogging.

Try not to cheer so loud.

A little delayed, here is my (understandably) subdued tally for June: an entire month spent on the streets, beaches and in the football stadium of Salvador de Bahía, a fascinating mix of blissful coastal paradise and crime-filled colonial crumbling cityscape.

20140603-0005

Salvador de Bahía, downtown

10553511_10152260375218837_7681444407877969176_n

Salvador de Bahía, beach

Just a few books read, as I was busy with the sister blog (still available and going strong here), with attending every game held in the Northeastern town, and with generally going out, having fun, and realising that I actually do understand Portuguese after six months in Lisbon, it just requires someone to use a Brazilian accent and not the drunken buzz of Portuguese Portuguese for me to prove it.

Shockingly, this is the first month I can remember where not a single book was purchased, a combination of not having time to read the dozen books that had made the grade to join me in my suitcase, (the books, I mean, I wasn’t in my suitcase at any point), and there being only one second hand bookshop in Salvador that I could find, and from which I didn’t purchase anything from until July.

The books I took with me and read were, understandably, all either on Brazilian life or football, or in the case of ‘Futebol‘ both. Since I plan to spend the next few months writing a book on my time in Brazil, and the World Cup, I didn’t want anyone to say I hadn’t done my research.

futebol

All of the books were excellent, and will feature in next week’s blog; Christian Hill‘s ‘Combat Camera,’ a first-hand account of his creating puff pieces for UK media outlets in the Afghanistan war, was sent to me by the publisher for review purposes, (and feel free to keep them coming: I may have struck out 0 for 2 so far, but I’m sure there will be something which I love enough to review at some point!).

Sadly, I didn’t love it enough to review it.

It’s good to be back, readers!

combat-camera 9780747573166 City-of-God shopping futebol

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2014 in BOOKS

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “120. Books Bought & Read, June 2014…

  1. nycavri

    August 4, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    Jurgen – James Branch Cabal
    Keeper – Greg Rucka
    Finder – Greg Rucka

    Every summer – from the day I set foot in my second home at the Summer Camp I have worked at for 20 years – I give up my nook (and coffee!) in favor of dead tree (and tea . . .)

    This year has been insanely busy, and I’ve been busy stickering my Panini Brasil 2014 album rather than reading in my limited free time, so progress has been minimal.

    I actually haven’t quite finished Jurgen since it’s in my nook, but I *think* I’ve been enjoying this proto-sci fi, almost fantasy, all morality play novel. If just for the ridiculous innuendo, where it would be subtler to just describe the sex.

    Next I took the opportunity (on two train rides back to the city for dental work) to reread the first two novels by one of my favorite couple of authors.

    Greg Rucka has created some of the most recognizable characters, starting with leading man and expert bodyguard Aticus Kodiak, and then proceeds to make them fallible, likeable, utterly human.

    Then he ruins their lives.

    There is subtlety and nuance throughout, in tackling topics as divisive as abortion and the IRA, and it is all done without Rucka preaching (or indeed, necessarily taking a position.)

    Did I mention that these are also some of the most explosive action thrillers I’ve ever read?

    I plan on reading the next few in the series next month.

     
    • Peter Hall

      August 22, 2014 at 4:08 am

      Avri – almost ashamed to admit that I hadn’t read any Lawrence Block before reading one of your comments a few months back on Doron’s blog where you extolled the virtues of his (Block’s) writing. Well just checked my iPad and now have 39 of his volumes downloaded, paid for and read. And loved them all. So I don’t know how much reading that comment of yours has cost me but ….well worth it. Haven’t said that, it looks like I might be in for another run with Greg Rucka! Will check him out once I finish the latest Baldacci series that I’m on now.

       
      • nycavri

        August 22, 2014 at 8:47 pm

        Only seems fair, Peter – I regularly end up adding books to my nook queue after reading Doron’s blog. Looking forward to “A Walk Among The Tombstones” (starring Liam Neeson) which comes out next month – one of my favorite Scudder stories.

        Rucka’s stuff is very different than Block’s, but I love reading the both.

        Strangely, Baldacci is the only writer whose book I can recall quitting midway through in many years . . .

         

Leave a Reply

 
