RSS

144. Books Bought & Read, April 2015…

27 Jan
144. Books Bought & Read, April 2015…
After taking a 9-month sabbatical from the book blog to work on my first actual book, this is the first of a series of ‘retro blogs’ detailing what I read in the last three-quarters of 2015.
.
My, what a sparse month for me! A measly five books bought, (a record low for some time), allowing me to double the number read. This was mainly due to other priorities this month, from writing, to entertaining my visiting girlfriend for two weeks, to spending a week riding across Morocco on a camel.
.
Reading, of course…
 .
 John Hodgson has joined my list of ‘Authors I Want To Read Everything They Have Ever Written.’ Sadly, this was the comedians third and final volume in his trilogy of everything/nonsense. If your humour matches his, you will find yourself snorting with repressed laughter on crowded, quiet minibus treks across the Sahara desert, bothering your girlfriend every 3.9minutes to read the last paragraph which just cracked you up.
.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

.
Also on those cross-country caravans, I rediscovered reading on my iPhone, the Kindle app coming to my rescue when the paper had run out. It was on the small screen that I thoroughly enjoyed a recent Unbound purchase, ‘Ta-Ra-Ra-BOOM-De-Ay,’ a fascinating history of modern music from the early days of music hall a century ago to the current day, via everything from fights between recording companies, to the influence of drug culture on popular music.
I saw in a bookshop yesterday that this has made the crossover from Unbound crowd-funded book to general release, so go find it in your book dealer!
.
9781783520312
.
I caught up with contemporary hipster literature (hipsterature?) by reading the deliciously bizarre ‘Boy Detective Fails‘ at the recommendation of my big brother, and the slightly less exciting first book by über-book cover designer Chip Kidd.
.
.
Hopefully, that’s a downpayment on 9months of absence: I hope you’ve all somehow found something worth reading since I’ve been away: feel free to let me know what!
 .
.
Books Bought, April 2015
.
Boy Detective Fails,’ Joe Meno
More Information Than You Require,’ John Hodgman
The Path To The Spiders’ Nests,’ Italo Calvino
Que Farei Com Este Livro,’ (‘What Will I Do With This Book’), José Saramago
Fernando Pessoa, 10 short stories/poetry compilations
Eça de Queiroz,10 short stories
.
Books Read, April 2015
The Cheese Monkeys,’ Chip Kidd
The Knowledge: how to rebuild civilization in the aftermath of a cataclysm,’ Lewis Dartnell
By The Book: writers on literature and the literary life from the new york times book review,’ ed.Pamela Paul
Ta-Ra-Ra-BOOM-De-Ay: the (dodgy) business of popular music,’ Simon Napier-Bell
The Path To The Spiders’ Nests,’ Italo Calvino
More Information Than You Require,’ John Hodgman 51-r5H5xvML._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
The Little Prince,’ Antoine de Saint Exupéry (x2) 51-r5H5xvML._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
Diálogos Com José Saramago,’ (‘Conversations With José Saramago’), Carlos Reis
Que Farei Com Este Livro,’ (‘What Will I Do With This Book’), José Saramago
Boy Detective Fails,’ Joe Meno
.
the-path-to-the-spiders-nest 51Bvp4YFbAL._SX264_BO1,204,203,200_ 102504 quefareicom 11793710Z 04719-694x1024cheese-monkeys51+Wk3GVmVL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_978178352031220696029
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2016 in BOOKS

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
